Click here to view this Bible Study.

Books covered under Kings and prophets of both northern (Israel) kingdom and Southern (Judah) Kingdom.

KINGS: Both Israel and Judah: 1 Kings 12-22, 2 Kings, and 2 Chronicles 10- 36.

PROPHETS: Canonical Prophets and Non-Canonical prophets.

What is canon? The word canon is used to describe those books recognized as inspired of God. The word comes from the Greek “kanwn” & most likely from the Hebrew “qaneh” & Akkadian, “qanu”. Literally, it means
(a) a straight rod or bar;
(b) a measuring rule as a ruler used by masons and carpenters; then
(c) a rule or standard for testing straightness.

Canonical Prophets are the ones who wrote their prophecy and those are included in the Bible.

Non-Canonical prophets are the ones whose prophecies were never written down either by themselves or by others as a separate prophetical book.

Prophets to Israel:
1. Hosea,
2. Amos, and
3. Micah (prophet for both Israel and Judah),

Non Canonical: But they are found written with the Kings’ history. They are such as Elijah, Elisha and others.

Prophets to Judah:
1. Isaiah, Micah (N & S),
2. Jeremiah,
3. Joel,
4. Habakkuk, and
5. Zephaniah.

Other Prophets during Divided Kingdom:
1. Jonah (prophet to Assyrian city of Nineveh),
2. Nahum (Concerning Nineveh)
3. Obediah (Concerning Edom)

Prophets during exile:
4. Jeremiah (in Jerusalem during exile)
5. Daniel (1 & 2 batch exilic group in Babylon)
6. Ezekiel (2 & 3 batch exilic group in Babylon)

Other history book involved along with book of Jeremiah, Daniel and Ezekiel during this period is ESTHER.

Prophet during post exile (Return to Jerusalem):
1. Haggai (during rebuilding of Temple)
2. Zechariah (contemporary to Haggai during rebuilding of Temple)
3. Malachi (Towards the end of OT’s post-exilic period.

Other historical books involved other than the books of Haggai, Zechariah and Malachi are Ezra and Nehemiah.